A Biblical subject so many face in today’s times, but is seldom talked about, foreclosure, or bad debt.

Posted: May 31, 2012 in Bible, God, Jesus, Life, Thoughts, Thoughts on God
English: Foreclosure signs, Mortgage crisis,

English: Foreclosure signs, Mortgage crisis, (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My wife and I, like so many others, have become victims of a declining Real Estate Market and circumstances that were unavoidable. When we bought the house, it was an excellent deal, and I had a great job that enabled us to more than make our payments, but things changed. I lost my job, the housing market crashed, home prices dropped leaving us 80K under. We are trying like crazy to keep our house, but we’re not sure if we will be able to. We feel like failures and are struggling with the Biblical implications of a foreclosure. We will do anything to avoid it, but what does the Bible say about our situation we face along with millions of others in this situation?

“The wicked borrows and does not pay back, but the righteous is gracious and gives.”
                                                                                          Psalm 37:21

It is not a sin to borrow money for a home! God gives us many warnings against borrowing, but borrowing is not a sin. That is not what Scripture says and that is not what the verse above says. The verse only says it is evil if you borrow and don’t repay!!

I want you to read the following verse in the context it is intended: God gives us certain principles. These are instructions to help us live our daily lives. There is a difference between warnings God gives us and sin. So read the following, which I believe is an instruction (warning):

“Now it shall be, if you will diligently obey the Lord your God, being careful to do all His commandments which I command you today, the Lord your God will set you high above all nations of the earth…The
Lord will open for you His good storehouse, the heavens, to give rain to your land in its season and to bless all the work of your hand; and you shall lend to many nations, but you shall not borrow.”
Deuteronomy 28:1,12

OK, you say, so I shouldn’t borrow money? What if I have borrowed money? What if I now find myself facing the very real possibility of foreclosure. What do I do as a Christian and what does it say about me as a Christian facing foreclosure? I will start with the fact that it says nothing about you other than you are human. Like all of us, we fall short.

Going forward we should recognize that God tells us we should lend but not borrow. That is good to know going forward. You can not go back and change the past. The question still remains where do I go from here?

We know it was not a sin to borrow. God tells us we need to repay when we borrow. But………………..what happens if I borrowed and something happened and now I don’t think I can repay, or if I know I can‘t repay? What now?

Always remember, God is a God of grace. He will forgive us when we come to Him. So the first step would seem to be to take it to God. So start with this question:  Have you gotten on your knees and prayed to God? If not, just do it. Get down and give your worries to God. “God I pray for Your Wisdom. I find my self in this position. I somehow got myself here. Forgive me for not heading Your warnings. Forgive me for my mistakes. Lord, I can not get out of this place without You. I recognize that I can not do it. I am weak. You said that when I am weak, You are strong. Deliver me!

Leave a comment or reply to this page or post.

