Joel Osteen on ONLY preaching about what he KNOWS about the Bible…What do you think?

Posted: January 15, 2014 in Thoughts on God
Tags: , ,

Lakewood mega church Pastor Joel Osteen sat down with Larry King and spoke about everything from Duck Dynasty to the Pope, Obamacare, and his views on the controversial topic of homosexuality.

Osteen who calls himself a “non traditional Pastor” during the interview, has the biggest church in America. Leading a congregation of about 43,500 people Osteen said he does not have a set routine for his sermons and comes up with his messages based on what he “feels.”

During the interview Osteen shared his support for Pope Francis and his progressive methods with the Catholic Church.

King asked Osteen, “What are your views on homosexuality?” to which Osteen replied “The same that they’ve been. I believe that scripture says that it’s a sin but I always follow that up by saying you know what, we’re not against anybody.”

King wanted him to explain how homosexuality is a sin and said, “How can it be if we don’t know what causes it? You don’t know why you’re a heterosexual.”

“There’s a lot of things Larry that I don’t understand- so I just don’t want to preach on it, preach about it,” Osteen said.

King then asked, “Does gay marriage annoy you?” “It doesn’t annoy me. From a scripture point of view, it’s not what my faith would teach, but it doesn’t annoy me,” the pastor replied.

King went on to press Osteen on his beliefs when it comes to the literal interpretation of the Bible. Osteen admittingly said he does not understand the entire Bible. “I’m not a scholar of it all but I try to stick with the things I do believe,” Osteen replied. To which King said, “you’re preaching it, so if I’m questioning it, shouldn’t you have answers for me?”

Leave a comment or reply to this page or post.

