How to master “stinkin’ thinkin'” (My phrase for negative thinking”

Posted: March 21, 2014 in Thoughts on God

Most of you who know me are aware of the trials I am facing on a daily basis. I can honestly say that I cannot remember a day where I haven’t gotten some bad news, or a reminder of what I am facing, and will be facing, for many years to come. I sometimes laugh at an image I come up with, an image of a line of people ready to drop the next bit of bad news lining up behind me following me like I’m the Pied Piper. Please reserve judgement on my analogy until you finish reading this… 🙂

One of the things that I do give credit to the secular world is that they have a lot of motivational speakers. I even worked for one. But far too often we a Christians forget, or are to bombarded with bad news, to focus our thoughts on what we DO have. I mean if you look at my image of bad news following me above, it’s a prime example of what I call…”Stinkin’ Thinkin’. That’s when we focus our thoughts and energy on only the bad, while we forget the promise of peace that Jesus gave us over and over.

Our minds often become conditioned to the stinkin’ thinkin’ I refer to above, so the longer we allow ourselves to think only of the bad the more habitual it becomes. We need to get ourselves out of that sinful rut, and find the good in everything. Each time we become discouraged we need to pray on it, focus on our eternal salvation to come, and know that this is merely a speed bump on the road to everlasting glory with our Lord Jesus. We’ve all heard this before, but we need to hear it over and over again until giving praise in a bad situation comes as natuarally as thinking negative thoughts come to us now. We can do it.

I pray for you, as I hope you pray for me, that we can soon become as inspirational in the most dire of circumstances as the Saints in the Bible were persecuted to the point of death were. May we become like the Paul’s, the Peter’s, the great Martyrs who died for the name of Jesus praising His name and giving thanks. They didn’t complain that what they had wasn’t enough, they praised the name of Jesus because they had everything…Jesus.

I have listed some great scripture below to help us focus on the joy that is Jesus. So the next time you become scared of what the future holds, or the pain of an illness, replace the stinkin’ thinkin’ with the comforting God inspired words of the Bible. Be calm, and be at peace.

Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

2 Corinthians 10:3-6 For though we walk in the flesh, we are not waging war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.

Isaiah 26:3 You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.

Philippians 4:4-9 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

Leave a comment or reply to this page or post.

