Does Satan have a hold of your mind? Overcoming negative thinking.

Posted: March 28, 2015 in Addiction, Bible, Christ-like, Christianity, Christmas, Church, death, God, heaven, Jesus, Life, Prayer, Thoughts, Thoughts on God
Tags: , ,

We live in a very negative world, and not an easy world to live in. So to be positive may be quite a strain to you. But it’s not only the world that affects this, your temperament plays it’s part also. If you’re an extrovert you may have a bit of an edge on the introverts amongst us. And there’s one extrovert temperament (which Tim La Haye calls a ‘Sanguine’) who seem to be positive and happy nearly all the time!

index

Then some of us are negative in our attitude, seemingly independent of the world and independent of our temperament type. Is it just because we WANT to be? The standard ‘test’ for this, of course, is to ask whether the glass is half full or half empty. You answer will tend to show whether you are a basically positive or negative person.

I see the half-full glass as more than half full *broad grin!*, so now you know which side I’m on. My primary temperament is that of an Introvert, but I have two sub-temperaments both Extrovert, so I can basically be either. I love the temperament that God and my parents gave to me, and I make the very best I can of it!!

Negativism is pretty awful really. I’ve read that it takes 10 positive words to overcome 1 negative one – isn’t that shocking! – so do watch your mouth, particularly with your children. When we feel and speak and act negatively ultimately no good can come from this.

Seems like God is well on the side of positivism. I was reading in Philippians and couldn’t help noticing these: Rejoice in the Lord always; and again I say rejoice! PHILIPPIANS 4:4.That sure works for ME!! If you’re rejoicing, well, ALWAYS, then I can’t really see any room for negativism, can you? A verse or two later God continues with: Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything – which seems pretty straight forward to me.

But how is this possible in our lives? Well the verse continues with the answer: but in every circumstance and in everything by prayer and petition continue to make your needs and requirements made known to God. PHILIPPIANS 4:6. NOT your wants“, your needs“, okay! BIG difference!!

There are definitely people in the world who are ‘Positives’ and others who are ‘Negatives.’ Do you think the verses above may mean that God is perhaps a ‘Positive?’Okay, I don’t dare ‘label’ God like that – just saying it seems to be that way. Continuing in Philippians I come down to the verse that I’m going to kind of summarize, so that hopefully we may get the full impact of it:

Whatever is true; and honorable and good; and just; and pure; and lovely; and kind and gracious – think on these things (fix your minds on them.) PHILIPPIANS 4:8. Whoo-hoo!! I just LOVE all of that!

Does that mean that I manage to do all in that verse? No, I’m not perfect yet. But you’re a positive, right; so were you always like that? Tended to be, but no, I’ve had to LEARN to do (OBEY!!!) the things in these verses, along with many others in the New Testament that lead us to be so grateful for all He’s given us and done for us, and I’m now ALWAYS joyful deepdown which the Holy Spirit can and will give you as part of the Fruit of the Spirit in Galatians 5:22-23.

I pray for you all – as part of this Fruit, that you gain deep-down Love, Joy and Peace!!

Leave a comment or reply to this page or post.

